top of page
  • Brandi Bradley

August was a rough month



August was tough. I went back and looked at my calendar and the last time I went running was Aug 1. It was a good run. I was feeling good about my schedule. The my knee started feeling weird. It didn’t hurt, but I wore a brace for a few days to let it rest.

Then my kid brought home a cold. We all ended up with bad coughs — deep in the chest, cough until you pee yourself coughs. Running was impossible until I recovered.

Yesterday I felt well enough to give it a shot. Honestly before I walked out the door, I told my husband I wasn’t even going to run. I planned to just go for a walk. But when I reached the spot where I normally started my intervals, I decided to change my plan.

I figured 10 minute intervals would be a good starting place.

First interval, great. Didn’t even look at my watch. Second interval, good. I slow jogged up the big hill. Third interval, not so great. Had to slow to a walk a few times.

After I was done, I felt all jacked up on endorphins and glad I went. I remembered to stretch, which is one of the things that screws up my knee more often than not.

My knee feels fine.

Now that my semester has begun and I am teaching again, I am shoving more person errands and appointments in smaller open windows of time. Sometimes that is overlapping my running time. I gotta make sure I honor my fitness times.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page