top of page

Writing a work of substance


Today, I want you to completely focus on writing. Your first draft is due Friday, September 27 before 11:59 p.m. Take the time you normally devote to reading this lecture to writing. If you blocked off 1 hour and 15 minutes for lecture, devote that same time to writing your draft.

When complete, I want you to upload the draft as a Pdf to your P1 Wix page just like your Annotated Bibliography and Outline. I need to be able to easily click on a button and view your Pdf. Remember not to forget to upload the link to Canvas. It is very important for all the links to be corralled in that space because that is where you will receive feedback.

Here are some additional questions you might have:

  • Do I want this double spaced? -- Yes. 12 point in Times New Roman.

  • Do I want the Works Cited on the same document or on a new separate document? -- I want it on the same document so I can easily scroll down and view your source names as I come across it.

  • Do I REALLY want all 2,000 words, even though it is "only" a first draft? -- YES! Absolutely. I want all the words. No exceptions.

  • Can I write this paper in 1st person? -- No. Absolutely not. No exceptions.

  • Am I really expected to complete THREE different drafts of this project? I'm a great writer and usually knock it out of the park every time. -- That may be true. I would love to see it. I would love nothing more than to not have to give any feedback on anyone's paper. That rarely happens. You are all still learning how to write and communicate. This process will take you from beginning to end and is designed to show YOU how you progress.

  • What if you screw it up? -- I have given feedback all along this process. If you have been listening and making changes accordingly, you should have a good solid draft before Friday.

I want to refer back to the lecture on Frequent Mistakes for P1 that I published last week. Review it, AGAIN

Now, stop fretting over it and just do it.

Don't Forget:


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page